A Look Back

For the past few years I’ve mostly abandoned dolls and photography in favor of gaming, and just surviving life in general.

After picking up my camera again, I’ve found I know nothing anymore and am almost back to where I began with knowing my camera and the basics of photography.  It’s slowly coming back to me with every photo I take, but it’s definitely going to be a process, so I’ve decided to document it.

I guess you can kind of call this a blogging version of a photography 365?  I’ll being trying to take photos everyday, and trying to figure out what I’m doing!

For those unfamiliar with me, I’ve been a doll photographer for about 9 years, on and off.
It started back in February 2008, when I got Pullip Souseiseki. Sadly, I can’t even find my first photos of her standing with a glass Eiffel Tower full of candy.  I was into pullips for a few months and then in late 2008 I got my first BJD, an Angel of Dream Wang Zi that I named Jake…
You know those moments you look back on and cringe? yeah, this was one of them…

you have to start somewhere though, right?

Shortly after getting my first BJD, my collection grew, and I traded out most of my Pullips for resin BJDs and thus began and long and crazy ride of constantly rotating dolls.

I once counted it up and I’d owned around 30-40 different BJDs between my first and of recent. I’m not sure why I bought and sold so many, whether it was getting caught up in the thrill of buying a new doll, or I just hadn’t found the style that suited me.

2011 Resin Collection
2011 Resin Collection

I don’t think the constantly rotating dolls ever did change much till I started getting out of the hobby and didn’t have the motivation to sell anymore, since I never needed the money to buy anything else.

Once got into gaming, dolls really became part of my past. I still had them siting out and displayed nicely, but I never touched them outside occasionally fixing an eye that had fallen out or changing an outfit once in a blue moon.

I’m back, though, but with a different spin on things. I’m more of an “anime inspired” collector now, so Dollfie Dreams, Azones (big and small), Figmas, etc.

We’ll see where this new adventure takes us 🙂

33578597911_5295927736_o[1]

4 Comments Add yours

  1. NekoBJD says:

    I think you will have fun in the anime style dolls. I think they’re really cute and require less maintenance than BJDs (restringing, magic eraser cleans, yellowing, and they are lighter). I wish you the best on your new journey!

    Like

    1. Spanxi says:

      ; w; Thank you!

      Like

  2. Deb W. says:

    Deb from the Azone group here! Sounds like you and I have similar hobbies. I am a gamer as well. I also collect Figmas and Nendoroids. I collect Pullips. I have only recently dipped my toes in collecting Azones. I have three smaller dolls, and I have Amane. I can definitely see myself owning more of the larger dolls. Amane is awesome!
    I ordered a Doll Zone Miss Kitty back in September, and I still haven’t received her. This is supposed to be my first BJD. I am not sure if I’ll continue in the BJD hobby, because these wait times are crazy!
    I am looking forward to seeing what you post in the future. I really love your pics of all of your dolls. Ellen and Amane look adorable in their new outfits.

    Like

    1. Spanxi says:

      oh my gosh! September?! I would have died too!
      I was a habitual second hand shopper for most of my dolls for that exact reason. The wait times are aweful! I hope you get your kitty soon! 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

