Why Detroit?

Obviously the Detroit in Detroit Doll is because I live here, and it helps that it’s catchy, but I definitely did give it a lot of thought before settling on it. I realized I do really love living and working in Detroit and have always loved taking photographs while I’m down town. I also saw this as an opportunity to do my part to “Say Nice Things About Detroit

I’ve been in and around Detroit, Michigan for about 5 years now. It started when I had a position at a previous job that shipped me out to the city ever week for months. I quickly fell in love with the spirit of the city and started to really feel a sense of belonging and defensiveness for the city.

River Sunrise
River Sunrise

Detroit is so often in the news in negative connotations. From the failing public education system, to the miles of abandoned and dilapidated buildings. However, that’s only a piece of the city, and I want to do my part in sharing what it’s like to actually be here and walk the streets. It’s a beautiful place full of great restaurants, businesses, and people and is just as worthy of respect as any city.

I have the wonderful opportunity of spending my most of my days looking over the edge of the city into Windsor, Canada. It’s a beautiful sight that is one thing that can turn any bad day into a good one, and can make getting up before sunrise worth it.

I haven’t spent a lot of time walking around the city, but I’m hoping that this blog will give me reason to explore more and capture the things that I love.  Not sure how soon I’ll put the “Doll” in “Detroit Doll” though, I’m still a bit anxious about having the dolls out in public again, but maybe I can get some friends together and brave it.

General Motors
General Motors Renaissance Center Food Court

Leave a Reply

